.
UndergraduateGraduateContinuing EducationSpecial ProgramsAbout SVAStudent LifeAttend SVAAfter SVA

SVA has developed a unique program of advisement designed to fit the needs of the student body. Operating within the student's major's department, the advisors can respond quickly and efficiently to each student's particular needs. The Academic Advisors are involved with:

  • Course selection
  • Registration
  • Schedule changes
  • Attendance problems
  • Interruption of studies 
  • Voluntary withdrawals
  • Independent study proposals
  • Transfer of credit
  • Complaints concerning course and faculty members

 Please find your department below to find contact information for your advisor.

All Departments
A-Lucky Checkley, Jr., Coordinator of Academic Advisement
Tel: 212.592.2541
Fax: 212.592.2545
133 West 21st Street, Room 704C
Email: lcheckley@sva.edu

.

Advertising, Cartooning, Design, and Illustration

Foundation Year

Wayde McIntosh
Tel: 212.592.2122
Fax: 212.592.2545
133 West 21st Street, Room 706C
Email: wmcintosh@sva.edu

Sophomore Year

Alida Beck LaRocca
Tel: 212.592.2121
Fax: 212.592.2413
209 East 23rd Street, Room 203
Email: abecklarocca@sva.edu

Junior Year

Yolanda Powell-Davis
Tel: 212.592.2123
Fax: 212.592.2413
209 East 23rd Street, Room 203
Email: ypowelldavis@sva.edu

Senior Year

Kristine Wilson
Tel: 212.592.2542
Fax: 212.592.2413
209 East 23rd Street, Room 203
Email: kmwilson@sva.edu

Animation

Timothy D. Webster
Tel: 212.592.2694
Fax: 212.592.2688
380 Second Avenue, Room 506B
Email: twebster@sva.edu

Computer Art, Computer Animation & Visual Effects

Mahtab Aslani
Tel: 212.592.2522
Fax: 212.592.2574
133 West 21st Street, Room 320C
Email: maslani@sva.edu

ESL (non-matriculated)

Phyllistine Travis
Tel: 212.592.2527
Fax: 212.592.2545
133 West 21st Street, Room 700C
Email: ptravis@sva.edu

Film and Video

JUNIOR AND SENIOR Years

Elvera L. Vilson
Tel: 212-592-2191 
Fax: 212-592-2290
209 East 23rd Street, Room 500
Email: evilson@sva.edu

FOUNDATION and SOPHOMORE Years:

Mark H. Ramos
Tel: 212.592.2276
Fax: 212.592.2054
209 East 23rd Street, Room 400
Email: mhramos@sva.edu

Fine Arts

Dora Riomayor
Tel: 212.592.2543
Fax: 212.592.2545
133 West 21st Street, Room 705C
Email: driomayor@sva.edu

Interior Design

Kathleen Hayes
Tel: 212.592.2585
Fax: 212.592.2573
133 West 21st Street, Room 1117C
Email: khayes1@sva.edu


Photography

SOPHOMORE and JUNIOR Years

Deborah Yale
Tel: 212.592.2307
Fax: 212.592.2393
214 East 21st Street, Room 708A
Email: dyalemedwed@sva.edu

FOUNDATION AND Senior Years

Angela Kaniecki
Tel: 212.592.2331
Fax: 212.592.2318
214 East 21st Street, Room 617A
Email:akaniecki@sva.edu

Visual and Critical Studies

Paul D'Innocenzo
Tel: 212.592.2221.
Fax: 212.592.2545
133 West 21st Street, Room 4C
Email: pdinnocenzo@sva.edu

School of Visual Arts | 209 East 23 Street, NY, NY 10010-3994 | Tel: 212.592.2000 | Fax: 212.725.3587