UndergraduateGraduateContinuing EducationSpecial ProgramsAboutAdmissionsAlumniStudents

In 1988 SVA instituted the Masters Series, an annual award exhibition to honor great visual communicators --designers, illustrators, art directors and photographers-- of our time. As Silas Rhodes, founder and chairman of the College put it, "Though their achievements are lauded by their colleagues, the names of groundbreaking visual artists often go largely unrecognized by the general public even though many people have been influenced by their work and have responded strongly to their imagery. At the School of Visual Arts we feel that artists of this caliber should have the widest possible public exposure and recognition, which is why we offer this annual award and exhibition."


2018 Roz Chast
2017 Christoph Niemann
2016 Louise Fili

2015 Michael Bierut
2014 Tom Geismar

2013 R.O. Blechman

2012 James McMullan
2011 Edward Sorel
2008 April Greiman
2007 Steven Heller
2006 Jules Feiffer
2005 Heinz Edelmann
2004 Ed McCabe
2003 Marshall Arisman
2002 Paula Scher
2001 Shigeo Fukuda
2000 Duane Michals
1999 Tony Palladino
1998 Paul Davis
1997 Seymour Chwast
1996 Mary Ellen Mark
1996 Saul Bass
1995 Ivan Chermayeff
1995 Deborah Sussman
1994 George Lois
1992 George Tscherny
1991 Lou Dorfsman
1991 Massimo Vignelli
1989 Milton Glaser
1988 Paul Rand

School of Visual Arts | 209 East 23 Street, NY, NY 10010-3994 | Tel: 212.592.2000 | Fax: 212.725.3587