.
UndergraduateGraduateContinuing EducationSpecial ProgramsAboutAdmissionsAlumniStudents

Important Admissions Deadlines

PLEASE NOTE:

  • Entry to the graduate programs takes place in the fall semester only (summer only for MFA Art Practice & MFA Visual Narrative).
  • The online application is available here.

Friday, December 15, 2017
Early decision deadline for application and supporting materials for the MFA Art Practice department.

Monday, January 15, 2018 *
Deadline for application and supporting materials for the following department:

  • MAT Art Education
  • MFA Art Practice
  • MPS Art Therapy
  • MPS Branding
  • MFA Computer Arts
  • MFA Design
  • MA Design Research, Writing and Criticism
  • MFA Design for Social Innovation
  • MPS Digital Photography
  • MFA Fine Arts
  • MFA Illustration as Visual Essay
  • MFA Interaction Design
  • MFA Photography, Video and Related Media
  • MFA Products of Design
  • MFA Social Documentary Film

Thursday, February 1, 2018 *
Deadline for application and supporting materials for the following departments:

  • MFA Art Writing
  • MA Critical Theory and the Arts
  • MA Curatorial Practice
  • MPS Directing
  • MPS Fashion Photography

* Please Note: After the deadline has passed, applications for these programs will be accepted and processed on a first-come, first-served basis, as space remains available.

Applications are always reviewed on a rolling admissions basis for the MFA Visual Narrative department.
Additional Important Dates

September 2017


October 2017 - December 2017


Thursday, December 21, 2017 - Monday, January 1, 2018

  • Winter Recess: College Closed


Monday, January 15, 2018

  • Martin Luther King Jr., Day; College Closed

 

Friday, March 9, 2018

  • Staff Holiday: College Closed


Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Admissions Notification
    • Applicants who have completed the application process by January 15, 2018, will receive an admission decision, in writing, by April 1, 2018.
    • The College does not disclose admissions decisions via phone.
    • All admission decision letters are sent to the mailing address on file. To avoid delays in notification, applicants who move or change addresses during the application process should contact Graduate Admissions via email at [email protected] to update their contact information.

 

Sunday, April 15, 2018

  • Reply date for Summer 2018 and Fall 2018 accepted graduate students. 
  • Enrollment Fees are processed as space in each program remains available.

 

Monday, May 28, 2018

  • Memorial Day Holiday: College Closed

 

Friday, June 1, 2018

  • MFA Visual Narrative Department Orientation Begins

 

Monday, June 4, 2018

  • MFA Visual Narrative Summer 2018 Classes Begin

 

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 - Friday, June 15, 2018

  • MFA Art Practice Department Summer 2018 Orientation

 

Monday, June 18, 2018

  • MFA Art Practice Summer 2018 Classes Begin

 

Wednesday, July 4, 2018

  • Independence Day Holiday: College Closed

 

Wednesday, August 1, 2018

  • Fall 2018 Tuition Deadline: All programs except MFA Art Practice and MFA Visual Narrative.

 

Monday, August 27, 2018 - Friday, August 31, 2018

 

Monday, September 3, 2018

  • Labor Day Holiday: College Closed

 

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

  • Fall 2018 Classes Begin

ALUMNI PROFILES

School of Visual Arts | 209 East 23 Street, NY, NY 10010-3994 | Tel: 212.592.2000 | Fax: 212.725.3587