UndergraduateGraduateContinuing EducationSpecial ProgramsAboutAdmissionsAlumniStudents

The Visual Arts Press is the design studio for the School of Visual Arts. The press produces the College's printed publications, websites, environmental graphics and promotional products. It maintains a unified identity for SVA while communicating the College's diverse messages. The press also produces many publications that highlight student work.

SVA and its students gain international media exposure from the hundreds of awards that the Visual Arts Press has won in recent years—see the list below.

Some of our most visible and highly regarded creations throughout the past 50 years are the SVA New York City subway posters. These posters have become a hallmark of great design in the New York landscape and have brought SVA international acclaim. See the list of designers and artists who've worked on these posters below.

The press offers design internships each year. Student interns are selected based on qualifications, portfolio review and schedule. Please contact us for more information.


The Press has received awards from the following institutions: 

  • American Illustration/Photography Annuals
  • AIGA American Institute of Graphic Arts Annual design competition
  • AIGA 50 books/50 covers
  • American Association of Museums
  • Applied Arts
  • Art Direction Magazine
  • ADC Art Directors Club (New York & Washington, D.C.)
  • Benjamin Franklin Book Awards
  • AD&D British Art Direction & Design Annuals
  • Communication Arts magazine
  • Creativity Magazine
  • The Creative Review Annual, UK
  • International Davey Awards
  • Graphis Design Annuals
  • Graphis Poster competition
  • Higher Education Annual Educational Advertising Awards
  • HOW magazine ‘‘Perfect 10’’ Awards
  • Hugo Award
  • I.D. Annual Design Review
  • In-HOWse design awards
  • LERN International Awards
  • Literary Marketplace Achievement Award
  • New York Book Show
  • One Show Design, Print Magazine
  • Print Magazine Creativity + Commerce and International Business Graphics review
  • RedDot Award
  • SPD Society of Publication Designers, SND Society of Newspaper Designers
  • Summit International Creative awards
  • Type Directors Club
  • UCDA University & College Designers Association
  • W3 Web Design Awards
  • Webby Awards
  • Web Marketing Association
Subway Poster Designers

The posters have featured the work of designers and artists such as:

  • Gail Anderson
  • Marshall Arisman
  • Paul Davis
  • Louise Fili
  • Milton Glaser
  • Carin Goldberg
  • Steven Heller
  • Viktor Koen
  • Marvin Mattleson
  • James McMullan
  • Jerry Moriarty
  • Tony Palladino
  • Paul Sahre
  • David Sandlin
  • Paula Scher
  • George Tscherny
  • James Victore
  • Robert Weaver
Visual Arts Press Staff

Anthony P. Rhodes, executive vice president 
Gail Anderson, director of design and digital media
Brian E. Smith, art director

Sheilah Ledwidge, associate editor

Jennifer Liang, assistant director

Ryan Durinick, senior designer

Eric Corriel, lead web designer & developer

Abimbola Famuyiwa, senior multimedia designer
Declan Van Welie, web designer and developer


Arts Abroad: artsabroad.sva.edu
BFA Photography: bfaphoto.sva.edu
CE Blog: ceblog.sva.edu
Dear Dave Magazine: deardavemagazine.com
Dusty Festival: dusty.sva.edu
MAT Art Therapy: arttherapyblog.sva.edu
MPS Live Action Short Film: mpsfilm.sva.edu
Visual Arts Journal: journal.sva.edu
Strategic Plan: strategicplan.sva.edu
SVA Annual: annual.sva.edu
SVA Close Up:blog.sva.edu
SVA Theatre: svatheatre.com


Print Job 

School of Visual Arts | 209 East 23 Street, NY, NY 10010-3994 | Tel: 212.592.2000 | Fax: 212.725.3587