UndergraduateGraduateContinuing EducationSpecial ProgramsAboutAdmissionsAlumniStudents

The MFA in Interaction Design at SVA is an inventive two-year program that empowers students to understand how design can affect human behavior and think holistically about the products and services they’re creating. The program explores the strategic role of interaction design in shaping everyday life, and intends to increase the relevance of design to business and society. Students study concepts central to interaction design, including design research, experience design, product development, physical computing, and service design, culminating in an individual thesis.

The two-year, 60-credit program provides an environment where students explore designing a range of experiences that cross visual, conceptual, and technical boundaries. Grouped in interdisciplinary teams, students work in the field and the studio to develop practical design solutions to real-world problems. The faculty comprises leading practitioners in interaction design, whose materials range from sensors and screens to big data and the urban environment.

2016 – 2017 student population

38 matriculated students

Department chair

Liz Danzico, creative director, NPR

Faculty members

Munawar Ahmed (founder, Blueprint Design), Matt Borgatti (lead scientist, Super-Releaser), Gary Chou (founder, Orbital), Drew Cogbill (senior producer, Small Planet Digital), Nicole Fenton (innovation specialist, 18F), Paul Ford (author), Eric Forman (principal and founder, Klank Studios), Daniel Goddemeyer (researcher & designer; principal, OFFC), Criswell Lappin (creative director, Scrollmotion Blue), Jodi Leo (executive director of user experience, Critical Mass), John Leonard (creative technologist), Donna Lichaw (author, The User’s Journey), Roger Mader (growth strategy, Ampersand Partners), Karen McGrane (CEO and managing partner, Bond Art + Science), Joshua Musick (principal design director, frog design), Jill Nussbaum (product design manager, Facebook), Irene Pereyra (Anton & Irene), Matthew Richard (director of experience design, Adobe), David Seliger (founder, Public School), Jason Severs (director of experience design and strategic initiatives, Verizon), Marshall Sitten (vice president of communications, policy and research, Citi Community Development), Ted Southern (president and CEO, Final Frontier Design), Richard The (creative lead, Google Creative Lab), Neil Wehrle (senior director of user experience, SmartThings), Christina Xu (independent organizational designer and researcher), Michael Yap (user experience strategist, Etsy), Jeffrey Zeldman (founder and executive creative director, Happy Cog Studios)

Some notable alumni

Class of 2011

Stephanie Aaron (Fidelity Investments), Clint Beharry (The Harmony Institute), Derek Chan (R/GA), Carmen Dukes (National Football League), John Finley (Google), Kristin Graefe (Aperto), Angela Huang (AKQA), Michael Katayama (Random House), Jeffrey Kirsch (Amazon), Katie Koch (Spotify), Chia-Wei Liu (frog design), Gene Lu (R/GA), Russ Maschmeyer (Facebook), Colleen Miller (R/GA), Evinn Quinn (Critical Mass), Eric St. Onge (FiftyThree), Beatriz Vizcaino (Moment Design)

Class of 2012

David Bellona (Twitter), Kristin Breivik (NRK.no), Christopher Cannon (Bloomberg), Benjamin Gadbaw (IDEO), JoJo Glick (Johnson & Johnson), Sera Koo (IDEO), Erin Moore (Twitter), Allison Shaw (Twitter), Cooper Smith (Twitter), Michael Yap (MadeByFriendsCo), Tina Ye (Scratch House), Catherine Young (artist and designer)

Class of 2013

Sarah Adams (CircleUp), Minnie Choi (frog design), Tony Chu (Sift Science), Barbara de Wilde (The New York Times), Shanshan Gao (Ripen eCommerce), Tom Harman (BuzzFeed), Prachi Pundeer (Yahoo), Sana Rao (Twitter), Min Seung Song (Yahoo), Nikki Sylianteng (designer, illustrator and researcher), Guri Venstad (Fjord), Natasha Wong (Coastermatic)

Class of 2014

Tyler Davidson (Goldman Sachs), Stephen Faletti (Sols), Jennings Hanna (Code for America Fellow), Pamela Jue (Capital One Labs), Meghana Khandekar (18F), Rachelle Milne (Moment), Shelly Ni (Code for America Fellow), Ashley Quinn (Riffyn), Alexander Todaro (Undercurrent), Willa Tracosas (Twitter), Elizabeth Wernet (Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center)

Class of 2015

Aastha Bhargava (Twitter), Matthew Brigante (Amazon), Michie Cao (Twitter), Samuel Carmichael (UpStanding Desk), Mikey Chen (One Kings Lane), Jeffrey Gochman (Yelp), Sarah Henry (Accela), Mini Kim (Shutterstock), Nga Nguyen (NYDesigns Fellow), Sneha Pai (American Express), Melody Quintana (Tile), Sunnie Sang (Wealthfront), Luke Stern (American Express), Anke Stohlmann (Lil' Robin), Leroy Tellez (Amazon), Trent Thompson (Appfigures), Sam Wander (Facebook), Amy Wu (Opower), Dami You (Samsung MSCA), Effy Zhang (Square)

Class of 2016

Anupma Rajani (Amazon), Carrie Tsang (American Express), Datrianna Meeks (American Express), Emily Chan (R/GA), Jessica Halloran (American Express), Josh Sucher (Etsy), Karen Ng (Google), Marcelo Mejia Cobo (Analog R&D), Max Kessler (Google), Rachel Hsiung (Etsy), Somin Heo (Intuit)

More information 

SVA Admissions: 212.592.2107 | [email protected]

Media requests

SVA Communication: 212.592.2010 | [email protected]


209 East 23 Street, New York, NY 10010-3994 | Tel 212.592.2000 | sva.edu

School of Visual Arts | 209 East 23 Street, NY, NY 10010-3994 | Tel: 212.592.2000 | Fax: 212.725.3587